Regrets of Youth Parliament 2007

Youth ParliamentI received a letter today from New Zealand’s Ministry of Youth Development regarding my application to become one of ten Youth Press Gallery members for Youth Parliament.

As well as many other people who applied, they regretted to advise me that my “application was unsuccessful on this occasion.”

I was hugely excited about an opportunity to act like a real, accredited press gallery member sitting in on, and reporting on the Youth Parliament. Being able to talk to other, professional journalists about their chosen career, and advancing mine even further could have been a huge stepping stone for me.

Over 100 people from all over New Zealand applied to become a Youth Press Gallery member in the Youth Parliament being held between the 8 and 11 July, 2007, and I had to be one of the unlucky ones

I guess I have to stick to Wikinews for now, and wait another three to four years for the next Youth Parliament.

1 Response to “Regrets of Youth Parliament 2007”


  1. 1 Brian April 28, 2007 at 9.10 pm

    Or even better, come a real Press Gallery member!


Leave a Reply

About me

I write at Wikinews, and Practical eCommerce. I thoroughly enjoy writing about news and current affairs. I also have a TV related blog at Throng.

Support free media, donate to Wikinews!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 New Zealand License.

The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 14890

Archives

My Flickr photographs

Wide-eyed seal pup

Seal pup

Seal pup playing in water

Seal pups playing together

More Photos

