When Creative Commons fails the commoners

UPDATE: They have now attributed me after contacting them, but this still goes to show that adhering to proper licensing is good practice. 

I like photography and I licence all my photographs and written pieces (including this blog and all posts too) under a Creative Commons licence.

But when people take my work without crediting the author, well that just bugs me because they took something that was free but didn’t have the courtesy to acknowledge the source.

In this case I am referring to a photograph I took of local politician, Clayton Cosgrove (MP for Waimakariri if you needed to know). The National Business Review were the ones who took the photograph and didn’t credit the source, despite having previously done so correctly.

I am pleased that The NBR (or media in general) are using my work, but what they did was theft (copyright infringement) because they didn’t abide by the licensing terms of attribution.

Related blog post: https://gpollard.wordpress.com/2007/05/01/now-a-published-photographer/

0 Responses to “When Creative Commons fails the commoners”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About me

I write at Wikinews, and Practical eCommerce. I thoroughly enjoy writing about news and current affairs. I also have a TV related blog at Throng.

Support free media, donate to Wikinews!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 New Zealand License.

The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 14890

Archives

My Flickr photographs

Wide-eyed seal pup

Seal pup

Seal pup playing in water

Seal pups playing together

More Photos

